Kids Books

 

1993-2018 – Celebrating 25 Years

Store Hours:  Monday through Friday, 9-5; Saturday, 9-4

We have the current list and stock of the Battle Books for the Pikes Peak region.

 

 Picture Books

 Adrian Simcox Does NOT Have a Horse

By Marcie Campbell (Penguin Random House $17.99)

Adrian Simcox tells anyone who will listen that he has a horse–the best and most beautiful horse anywhere. But Chloe does NOT believe him. Adrian Simcox lives in a tiny house. Where would he keep a horse? He has holes in his shoes. How would he pay for a horse? The more Adrian talks about his horse, the angrier Chloe gets. But when she calls him out at school and even complains about him to her mom, Chloe doesn’t get the vindication she craves. She gets something far more important.

By Jory John (Penguin Random House $17.99)

Cyrus the giraffe can’t understand why his neck is as long and bendy and, well, ridiculous as it is. No other animal has a neck this absurd. He’s tried disguising it, dressing it up, strategically hiding it behind bushes–honestly, anything you can think of, he’s tried. Just when he has exhausted his neck-hiding options and is about to throw in the towel, a turtle swoops in (well, ambles in, very slowly) and helps him understand that his neck has a purpose, and looks excellent in a bow tie.

  

The Remember Balloons

By Jessica Oliveros (Simon & Schuster $17.99)

A Home in the Barn

By Margaret Wise Brown (Harper Collins $17.99)

Perfect for fans of Goodnight Moon, The Runaway Bunny, and Big Red Barn, this never-before-published picture book from beloved children’s book author Margaret Wise Brown tells the comforting, snowy story of animals seeking shelter from the cold in a big warm barn.  Brought to beautiful life by Caldecott Medalist and multiple award-winner Jerry Pinkney, this is a must-have for every child’s library and is perfect for cozy wintertime readings.

Outside in the cold, hear the wind rattle, come to the barn, keep warm with the cattle…

A Parade of Elephants

 

By Kevin Henkes (Harper Collins $18.99)

With a text shimmering with repetition and rhythm, bright pastel illustrations, large and readable type, and an adorable parade of elephants, Kevin Henkes introduces basic concepts such as numbers, shapes, adjectives, adverbs, and daytime and nighttime. A Parade of Elephants is an excellent choice for story time as well as bedtime sharing.

  You are Loved

By Nancy Tillman (MacMillan $17.99)

Perfect for baby showers, gender reveal parties, and first birthdays, this edition extends the sentiments in the bestseller On the Night You Were Born and tells children they are loved. With space and prompts for writing personal messages in the book, this volume is sure to be a special keepsake.

 

Early/Middle Grade Readers 

 

Louisiana’s Way Home

By Kate DiCamillo (Candlewick Press  $16.99)

When Louisiana Elefante’s granny wakes her up in the middle of the night to tell her that the day of reckoning has arrived and they have to leave home immediately, Louisiana isn’t overly worried. After all, Granny has many middle-of-the-night ideas. But this time, things are different. This time, Granny intends for them never to return. Separated from her best friends, Raymie and Beverly, Louisiana struggles to oppose the winds of fate (and Granny) and find a way home. But as Louisiana’s life becomes entwined with the lives of the people of a small Georgia town — including a surly motel owner, a walrus-like minister, and a mysterious boy with a crow on his shoulder — she starts to worry that she is destined only for good-byes. (Which could be due to the curse on Louisiana’s and Granny’s heads. But that is a story for another time.)

 

Saving Winslow

By Sharon Creech (Harper Collins $16.99)

When his father brings home an ailing, newborn donkey, Louie names the animal Winslow and takes care of him, but everyone, including Louie’s quirky friend Nora, thinks Winslow is not going to survive.

 

 

Sweep: Story of a Girl and her Monster

by Jonathan Auxier (Amulet Books $18.99)

In nineteenth-century England, after her father’s disappearance Nan Sparrow, ten, works as a “climbing boy,” aiding chimney sweeps, but when her most treasured possessions end up in a fireplace, she unwittingly creates a golem.

 

Squirm

By Carl Hiaasen (Penguin Random House $18.99)

Billy Dickens discovers that his mysterious father lives in Montana, so this summer Billy will fly across the country, hike a mountain, float a river, dodge a grizzly bear, shoot down a spy drone, and save his own father.

 

Small Spaces

by Katherine Arden (Penguin Random House $16.99)

After suffering a tragic loss, eleven-year-old Ollie only finds solace in books. So when she happens upon a crazed woman at the river threatening to throw a book into the water, Ollie doesn’t think–she just acts, stealing the book and running away. As she begins to read the slender volume, Ollie discovers a chilling story about a girl named Beth, the two brothers who both loved her, and a peculiar deal made with “the smiling man,” a sinister specter who grants your most tightly held wish, but only for the ultimate price.

Ollie is captivated by the tale until her school trip the next day to Smoke Hollow, a local farm with a haunting history all its own. There she stumbles upon the graves of the very people she’s been reading about. Could it be the story about the smiling man is true? Ollie doesn’t have too long to think about the answer to that. On the way home, the school bus breaks down, sending their teacher back to the farm for help. But the strange bus driver has some advice for the kids left behind in his care: “Best get moving. At nightfall they’ll come for the rest of you.” Nightfall is, indeed, fast descending when Ollie’s previously broken digital wristwatch, a keepsake reminder of better times, begins a startling countdown and delivers a terrifying message: RUN.

 

 

Atlas Obscura: Explorer’s Guide for the World’s Most Adventurous Kid

by Dylan Thuras (Workman Publishing $19.95)

The team behind the #1 bestselling Atlas Obscura presents a kid’s illustrated guide to 100 of the world’s most mesmerizing and mysterious wonders, both natural and manmade, in 47 countries and on every continent on earth. Travel the world through common points of interest, from sacred skeletons (Trunyan Tree cemetery in Indonesia leads you to India’s Skeleton Lake, for example) to wild waterfalls (while in Zambia visit the Devil’s Swimming Pool–and then move on to Antarctica’s Blood Falls) to ice caves to bioluminescence.

 

 

For your convenience when looking up series for children:

http://www.mymcpl.org/books-movies-music/juvenile-series