STORE HOURS:     Mon. thru Fri. 9am - 5pmtSat. 9am - 4pmtSun. CLOSED

CALL US:     719-481-2665 105 2nd Street, Monument, CO 80132 MAP

 

 

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”
Dr. Suess

KIDS BOOKS

NOTE: We have the current list and stock of the Battle Books for the Pikes Peak region.
For your convenience when looking up series for children: http://www.mymcpl.org/books-movies-music/juvenile-series

The Crayon’s Christmas (20% off through 12/15)
By Drew Daywalt (Penguin Random House $19.99)

‘Tis the season for all of us to write our holiday wishlists. But everyone–even the crayons–know the best presents are the ones that you give. In this unique book, readers get to see how Duncan, the crayons, and their families celebrate the holidays. With real, folded letters from the Crayons that you can pull from their envelopes and read, games, punch-out ornaments, a poster, and a pop-up tree, this book is the perfect gift for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.

The Little Snowplow Wishes for Snow (20% off through 12/15)
By Lora Koehler  (Candlewick $16.99)

The little snowplow loves his job on the Mighty Mountain Road Crew, but the work he loves best is plowing snow. Throughout the year, he wishes for snow to come, but winter begins without a single flake in sight. As the weeks pass and the little snowplow’s birthday approaches, he starts to wonder whether it will snow at all. Will the little snowplow’s birthday dreams come true?

Angelina Ballerina (20% off through 12/15)
By Katherine Holabird (Simon & Schuster $17.99)

Angelina is a pretty little mouse who wants nothing more than to be a ballerina. She dances all the time–at home, at school, even in her dreams! In fact, she’s so busy dancing that she forgets all about the other things she’s supposed to do, like cleaning her room and joining her family for breakfast! Her parents don’t know what to do–especially after her arabesques in the kitchen knock over the milk! Then one day they come up with an idea that will change Angelina’s life forever

How Winston Delivered Christmas (20% off through 12/15)
By Alex T. Smith  (Silver Dolphin Books $17.99)

An advent story told in twenty-four-and-a-half chapters! When a mouse named Winston finds a lost letter addressed to Santa Claus on Christmas Eve, he sets off an unforgettable journey to personally deliver the letter to Santa! How Winston Delivered Christmas is a heart-warming story, organized in twenty-four and a half chapters, to share during the countdown to Christmas. Starting on December 1st, children can read a chapter a day, and each chapter is followed with a fun and festive holiday activity to complete. This illustrated advent story tells of the adventures of an adorable mouse and how a good deed can lead to a very happy ending

Dr. Seuss’s Horse Museum (20% off through 12/15)
By Dr. Seuss  (Penguin Random House $18.99)

Based on an unrhymed manuscript and sketches discovered in 2013, this book is like a visit to a museum–with a horse as your guide!  Explore how different artists have seen horses, and maybe even find a new way of looking at them yourself. Discover full-color photographic art reproductions of pieces by Picasso, George Stubbs, Rosa Bonheur, Alexander Calder, Jacob Lawrence, Deborah Butterfield, Franz Marc, Jackson Pollock, and many others–all of which feature a horse! Young readers will find themselves delightfully transported by the engaging equines as they learn about the creative process and how to see art in new ways.

My Singing Nana (20% off through 12/15)
By Pat Mora (Magination Press $16.99)

 

My Singing Nana is a compassionate tribute to families dealing with Alzheimer’s Disease. This story celebrates the ideals of family, heritage, and happy memories, showing kids that no matter how their loved one might change they always have ways to maintain their special connection.

I Spy Christmas (20% off through 12/15)
By Walter Wick ( Scholastic $14.99)

Can you find Santa and his elf, a sleigh, snowmen, silver bells and jingle bells, mittens, two turtledoves, candy canes, and the rest of the festive things hidden in the shiny ornaments, snowy landscapes, and colorful store windows? What is hidden in Santa’s workshop? And what do you see under the Christmas tree?

Walter Wick’s captivating photographs paired with Marzollo’s clever rhyming puzzles will have readers of all ages mesmerized.

Spread some holiday cheer by finding all the search-and-find fun in I Spy Christmas.

EARLY / MIDDLE GRADE READERS

When a Ghost Talks, Listen (20% off through 12/15)
By Timmy Tingle (Road Runner Press $9.99)

Reading the West Award Winner 2019.  Ten-year-old Isaac, now a ghost, continues with his people as they walk the Choctaw Trail of Tears headed to Indian Territory in what will one day become Oklahoma. There have been surprises aplenty on their trek, but now Isaac and his three Choctaw comrades learn they can time travel–making for an unexpected adventure. The foursome heads back in time to Washington, D.C., to bear witness for Choctaw Chief Pushmataha who has come to the nation’s capital at the invitation of Andrew Jackson.

Guts (20% off through 12/15)
By Raina Telgemeier  (Graphix $12.99)

Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it’s probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she’s dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina’s tummy trouble isn’t going away… and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What’s going on?

Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face — and conquer — her fears.

Tale of Magic (20% off through 12/15)
by Chris Colfer  (Little Brown & Co. $18.99)

When Brystal Evergreen stumbles across a secret section of the library, she discovers a book that introduces her to a world beyond her imagination and learns the impossible: She is a fairy capable of magic! But in the oppressive Southern Kingdom, women are forbidden from reading and magic is outlawed, so Brystal is swiftly convicted of her crimes and sent to the miserable Bootstrap Correctional Facility.

But with the help of the mysterious Madame Weatherberry, Brystal is whisked away and enrolled in an academy of magic! Adventure comes with a price, however, and when Madame Weatherberry is called away to attend to an important problem, she doesn’t return.
Do Brystal and her classmates have what it takes to stop a sinister plot that risks the fate of the world, and magic, forever?

White Bird (20% off through 12/15)
By R.J. Palacio (Penguin Random House $24.99)

In R. J. Palacio’s bestselling collection of stories Auggie & Me, which expands on characters in Wonder, readers were introduced to Julian’s grandmother, Grandmère. Here, Palacio makes her graphic novel debut with Grandmère’s heartrending story: how she, a young Jewish girl, was hidden by a family in a Nazi-occupied French village during World War II; how the boy she and her classmates once shunned became her savior and best friend.

Sara’s harrowing experience movingly demonstrates the power of kindness to change hearts, build bridges, and even save lives. As Grandmère tells Julian, “It always takes courage to be kind, but in those days, such kindness could cost you everything.” With poignant symbolism and gorgeous artwork that brings Sara’s story out of the past and cements it firmly in this moment in history, White Bird is sure to captivate anyone who was moved by the book Wonder or the blockbuster movie adaptation and its message.