Kids Books

 

Store Hours:  Monday through Friday, 9-5; Saturday, 9-4; Sunday, closed. 

We have the current list and stock of the Battle Books for the Pikes Peak region.

 

 Picture Books

 We Don’t Eat Our Classmates

By Ryan T. Higgins (Disney-Hyperion $17.99)

It’s the first day of school for Penelope Rex, and she can’t wait to meet her classmates. But it’s hard to make human friends when they’re so darn delicious! That is, until Penelope gets a taste of her own medicine and finds she may not be at the top of the food chain after all.

 

By Randall de Seve (Houghton Mifflin $17.99)

Illustrated by two-time Caldecott Honoree Zagarenski, this tender, witty friendship story of imagination gone wild by “New York Times”-bestselling author de Sve, shows how assumptions often cause us to misjudge–and miss out.

  

Winter is Here

By Kevin Henkes (Harper Collins $17.99)

Gilda, The Giant Sheep

By Emilio Urberuaga (Nubeoho $17.95)

When Gilda discovers that the shepherds want to sell her for meat, she decides to escape. In the city she will be confronted with the cars, noise, skyscrapers, and unfriendly people. Will Gilda finally find safety, a new home and someone who appreciates her ”big” potential?

Is That You, Eleanor Sue?

By Tricia Tusa (Henry Holt & Co. $17.99)

When Gilda discovers that the shepherds want to sell her for meat, she decides to escape. In the city she will be confronted with the cars, noise, skyscrapers, and unfriendly people. Will Gilda finally find safety, a new home and someone who appreciates her ”big” potential?

  Fire Truck Dreams

By Sharon Chriscoe (Running Press Books  $17.99)

For fans of “Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site” comes an exciting new bedtime story about a brave little fire truck who dreams of taming a ferocious campfire and celebrating the end of his exciting day with s’mores.

 

Early/Middle Grade Readers 

 

Mac B., Kid Spy

By Mac Barnett (Candlewick Press  $16.99)

James Bond meets “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” in this groundbreaking new chapter book series. After the Crown Jewels are stolen, only one person can help the Queen of England: Mac B., her newest secret agent. With fascinating historical facts masterfully sprinkled throughout, this series offers adventure, intrigue, absurdity, history, and humor.

 

DK Life Stories, A New Series

By Various Authors  (Penguin Random House $5.99)

This new biography series from DK goes beyond the basic facts to tell the true life stories of history’s most interesting people. Full-color photographs and hand-drawn illustrations complement thoughtfully written, age-appropriate text to create an engaging book children will enjoy reading. Definition boxes, information sidebars, maps, inspiring quotes, and other nonfiction text features add depth, and a handy reference section at the back makes this the one biography series every teacher and librarian will want to collect. Each book also includes an author’s introduction letter, a glossary, and an index.

 

Epic Fails, A New Series

by Ben Thompson (Houghton Mifflin $6.99)

The Epic Fails series takes a humorous and unexpected view of history, exploring the surprising stories behind a variety of groundbreaking discoveries, voyages, experiments, and innovations, illustrating how many of mankind’s biggest successes are in fact the result of some pretty epic failures.

 

Dog Man:  Brawl of the Wild

By Dave Pilkey (Scholastic $9.99)

Is Dog Man bad to the bone? The heroic hound is sent to the pound for a crime he didn’t commit! While his pals work to prove his innocence, Dog Man struggles to find his place among dogs and people. Being a part of both worlds, will he ever fully fit in with one?

 

Where is Antarctica

by Katherine Arden (Penguin Random House $5.99)

Antarctica, the earth’s southernmost continent, was virtually untouched by humans until the 19th century. This entry to the “New York Times”-bestselling series introduces readers to the world’s coldest, driest, and windiest continent. Includes a foldout map.

 

 

A Boy Called Bat

by Elana Arnold (Harper Collins, $6.99)

For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life tends to be full of surprises–some of them good, some not so good. Today, though, is a good-surprise day. Bat’s mom, a veterinarian, has brought home a baby skunk, which she needs to take care of until she can hand him over to a wild-animal shelter.

But the minute Bat meets the kit, he knows they belong together. And he’s got one month to show his mom that a baby skunk might just make a pretty terrific pet.

 

 

For your convenience when looking up series for children:

http://www.mymcpl.org/books-movies-music/juvenile-series