Kids Books

 

1993-2018 – Celebrating 25 Years

Store Hours:  Monday through Friday, 9-5; Saturday, 9-4

We have the current list and stock of the Battle Books for the Pikes Peak region.

 

 Picture Books

 BirdWingFeather

By Siri Schillios (Pomegranate $17.95)

Bold lines, soft shapes, and happy colors form the birds in Birdwing-Feather.” ” On the right hand page, you will see a painting of a lovely little bird shimmering against a colorful sky. On the left hand page you will see details of the painting some parts you might recognize, others might prove to be more mysterious.

Forever or a Day

By Sarah Jacoby (Chronicle $17.99)

This gorgeous picture book is a conversation between parent and child across the course of a single day. Inviting comparisons to All the Wonderful Things You Will Be, I Wish You More, and Love, this celebration of cherished moments with loved ones is at once simple, profound, and truly beautiful.

 

  

A Hippy-Hoppy Toad

By Peggy Archer (Penguin Random House  $16.99)

Moon

By Alison Oliver (Houghton Mifflin  $17.99)

Like many children, Moon leads a busy life. School, homework, music lessons, sports, and the next day it begins again. She wonders if things could be different. Then, one night, she meets a wolf. The wolf takes Moon deep into the dark, fantastical forest and there she learns to howl, how to hide, how to be still, and how to be wild. And in that, she learns what it’s like to be free. This simply worded and stunningly illustrated story reveals the joy to be found in play, nature, and, most of all, embracing the wild in us all.

 

The Night Lion

By Sanne Dufft (Pajama Press $17.95)

From rising star Sanne Dufft comes a richly illustrated picture book about nighttime fears, a grandmother’s love, and the power of a child’s imagination. Morgan, an endearing tousle-haired little boy, feels big and strong during the day with his tall hat and his toy sword. But at night, when he dreams that a robber is coming through the woods to take these precious possessions, all of Mom’s assurances that “there is no robber” are not enough to ease his fears. Then Nana brings Morgan a stuffed toy lion, because everybody needs a lion sometimes – and because sometimes, fears in a child’s mind can only be conquered with the imagination. That night, Morgan rides a life-sized Night Lion into the woods and together they drive the robber far away. Comforting watercolor illustrations soothe any scary scenes, and the magical Night Lion will find an instant welcome in young readers’ hearts.

  Tree:  A Peed-Through Picture Book

By Britta Teckentrup (Penguin Random House $14.99)

Through a hole in the book’s cover, an owl invites you inside to meet a majestic tree and all its forest inhabitants during the changing seasons. With clever peekaboo holes throughout, each page reveals a new set of animals playing and living in the tree–baby bears frolicking in the spring, bees buzzing around apples in the summer, squirrels storing nuts in the fall, and finally the lone owl keeping warm during the winter chill–until another year begins. . . .

 

Early/Middle Grade Readers 

 

Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans

By Russell Ginns (Penguin Random House $16.99)

Samantha Spinner’s uncle Paul disappeared, and here’s what he left:
* Samantha’s sister got a check for $2,400,000,000.
* Samantha’s brother got the New York Yankees.
* And Samantha got a rusty red umbrella with a tag hanging off its worn handle. The tag says “Watch out for the RAIN.” Thanks a lot, Uncle Paul. After all the strawberry waffles, stories, and puzzles they’ve shared, how could he just leave without saying goodbye? And what is the meaning of that mysterious message? The answer is simple. Sam knows in her heart that Uncle Paul is in danger. And if he taught her anything, it’s that not everything is exactly what it seems. Which is why we should pay close attention to that rusty red umbrella, and never trust a monkey at a hula-hoop contest. The RAIN is coming and Samantha Spinner is about to find herself mixed up in some super-important, super-dangerous, super-secret plans.

 

Baby Monkey, Private Eye

By Brian Selznick (Scholastic $16.99)

Baby Monkey’s adventures come to life in an exciting blend of picture book, beginning reader, and graphic novel. With pithy text and over 120 black and white drawings accented with red, it is ideal for sharing aloud and for emerging readers.

 

 

Hello Universe

by Erin Entrada Kelly (Harper Collins $16.99)

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms.

 

Marabel and the Book of Fate

By Tracy Barrett (Hachette $16.99)

In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate’s ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret.

But on the night of their thirteenth birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants–and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.

 

The Book of Boy

by Catherine Gilbert Murdock (Harper Collins $16.99)

This epic and engrossing quest story is for fans of Adam Gidwitz’s The Inquisitor’s Tale and Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, and for readers of all ages. Features a map and black-and-white art by Ian Schoenherr throughout. Boy has always been relegated to the outskirts of his small village. With a large hump on his back, a mysterious past, and a tendency to talk to animals, he is often mocked by others in his town–until the arrival of a shadowy pilgrim named Secondus. Impressed with Boy’s climbing and jumping abilities, Secondus engages Boy as his servant, pulling him into an action-packed and suspensful expedition across Europe to gather the seven precious relics of Saint Peter. Boy quickly realizes this journey is not an innocent one. They are stealing the relics and accumulating dangerous enemies in the process. But Boy is determined to see this pilgrimage through until the end–for what if St. Peter can make Boy’s hump go away? A surprising and unforgettable tale for readers of all ages.

 

 

For your convenience when looking up series for children:

http://www.mymcpl.org/books-movies-music/juvenile-series